Marriage Licenses

Back to
Town Clerk
Click Here for a Marriage License Application Worksheet.
  • Apply with the Town Clerk in the Town Clerk’s office in the TOWN where the ceremony will take place
  • Both parties must appear in person, though not necessarily at the same time
  • Must show valid photo ID
  • There is no waiting period
  • License is good for 65 days
  • The cost is $50.00
  • There is no longer any blood tests required
  • Know your place of birth as well as that of both parents, know your mother’s maiden name
  • Please know the date of the ceremony and supply the name and contact information of the officiate at the time of application
  • Certified copies of a marriage license cost $20.00 each
OFFICIATORS: Connecticut Marriage Laws
  1. All judges, including out-of-state judges who are authorized to perform marriages in their jurisdictions
  2. Family support magistrates, state referees and JP’s who are appointed in Connecticut 
  3. All ordained or licensed members of the clergy belonging to this state or any other state
A person is eligible to enter into a marriage in the State of Connecticut if such person is
  • Not a party to another marriage
  • At least 18 years of age, or at least 16 years of age with parental consent, or is under 16 years of age with consent of probate court
  • Not under the supervision of a conservator unless written consent of the conservator has been granted; and
  • Not kindred